How did I get rid of condensation and mold at home?

09/12/2017

One year of repair has passed. So far, mold has not appeared and I dare to set the attempt to tackle this unpleasant problem as successful.

In the summer of 2005 I had to do a major renovation of my apartment. I decided to apply my university knowledge in practice. I stopped on the "classic" type of renovation - external thermal insulation and replacement of the old plastic windows. Although everything was done as a textbook during the first colder period of autumn, the corners of the rooms to the outer walls began to mold. Before that, there was no problem.

I sprayed with preparations, painted with anti-dull paint, but the result was short-lived - at most after a month the mold appeared again.

I shared my sorrows with my colleagues and they advised me to paint the milking plots with so-called. thermal-ceramic coating with the assurance that it will solve my problem.

I went to investigate the matter. It turned out that there is a lot of information on the Internet as well. I found American and German products of this type on the market. I turned to a German product that offered the best price-performance ratio. And in the store they said they have been selling for 2 years now and the reviews are good.

According to the manufacturer's description, the coating in question is an acrylic water-based solution. Appearance looks like a dense white paint, except that there are miniature and very light ceramic spheres that perform heat-insulating functions. They can not be seen, but it is probably because the paint is very light - 1 liter weighs about 900 grams, unlike the latex paint, which is at least a kilogram and a half.

The manufacturer claims that once the thermal-ceramic coating is applied to a surface, it will become warmer, which will stop condensation deposition and will not allow the formation of mold. I decided to break through. I took advantage of the warm days last January.

I Applied it on a "Do It Yourself" method. It is working, but do not do like me. I started with the usual latex, but it did not work. After losing half a liter I sat down and read the instruction manual. It was not until then that everything came to its place. You have to work with a long-haul roller and a bathtub.

On the wall surface, the roller also moves without pressure and without repeating repeatedly in the same place - at most two to three times up and down in one area and then moving to the next. Ensure that the roller is always well watered and that it does not step on. Apply two layers, the second 4-5 hours after the first. At the corners, I applied the brush coating before starting the respective roller layer. They mention the primer in the instructions, but I did not have to. I painted directly on the old latex.

Already a year has passed since the repair. So far, mold has not appeared and I dare to set the attempt to tackle this unpleasant problem as successful.

As every activity the house cleaning also have its specific things.

184 Meads Lane, London, IG3 8NY | Telephone: 020 365 65 655
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started